The Short Stories by Ian McEwan


“First Love, Last Rites”  tells the tale of a narrator and his teenage lover, Sissel, who enjoy a long summer of love making.

In  Between the Sheets,  a jaded millionaire buys himself the perfect mistress and plunges into a hell of jealousy and despair. And in the course of a weekend with his teenage daughter, a guilt-ridden father discovers the depths of his own blundering innocence.

Ian McEwan is a critically acclaimed author of short stories and novels for adults, as well as The Daydreamer, a children’s novel illustrated by Anthony Browne. His first published work, a collection of short stories, First Love, Last Rites, won the Somerset Maugham Award. His other award-winning novels are The Child in Time, which won the 1987 Whitbread Novel of the Year Award, and Amsterdam, which won the 1998 Booker Prize.

Only 1 left in stock


A hard cover edition with blue boards, silver lettering and unclipped dust jacket. There is some foxing and toning throughout but the text is clear and legible. There is some rubbing to the edges of the dust jacket and four small tear to the spine and edge of the jacket. there is some fading to the dust jacket. Now in a clear plastic cover to protect from damage.

Publisher: Jonathan Cape, London.

Publication Date: 1988.

For more details please email

Additional Information
Weight 0.525 kg
Reviews (0)


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Short Stories by Ian McEwan”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *