Lanark – A Life in Four Books by Alasdair Gray


The book follows Thaw’s wartime evacuation, secondary education and his scholarship to the Glasgow School of Art, where his inability to form relationships with women and his obsessive artistic vision lead to his descent into madness and eventual suicide by drowning.
Illustrated by the author. A fantasy novel widely regarded as one of the 100 best in this genre in the 20th century.

About the Author:

Alasdair Gray is the author of 1982, Janine, The Book of Prefaces, Old Men in Love, and Poor Things, for which he won the Whitbread Novel Award and the Guardian Fiction Prize.

Only 1 left in stock


Four hard cover editions in slip case, all with unclipped, illustrated dust jackets. Volume 1 and  4 have maroon boards and gilt lettering and embossing and books 2 and  3 have navy blue boards and silver lettering and embossing. There are some marks to the slip case and some tearing to the top edge. A four Volume limited edition of 2000 copies. This being 1874/2000.

WARNING, may cause offense to some readers.

Publisher: Canongate Publishing Limited, Edinburgh.

Publication Date: First published in 1981 and re-published in 2001.

Please email for more details and shipping costs.

Reviews (0)


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Lanark – A Life in Four Books by Alasdair Gray”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *